Family-SOLC-6/31

At least once a month my family tries to visit my grandma and great grandpa. They rarely can leave the house because of my great grandpa’s health. Today, at one of these rare meetings, we had homemade chicken soup. This soup takes about 4 hours and at least 2 people to make. So I found myself up bright and early this morning, already observing everybody’s morning activities. My parents, both already showered,  having a breakfast of cereal as they converse. My brother, having been at a friends house the night before, zoomed around to get ready in time. I just sat back and relaxed having gotten ready last night.
After all the hustle and bustle of the morning, our car ride was filled with silent thoughts. Each of us wondering about things in our personal lives.
When we arrived, my grandma didn’t even have time to say hi as she rushed around the kitchen. Trying, as always, to do the work of two. Mom quickly took away a few jobs and, for the first time, assigned me some too. As I stood in the middle of a very hectic environment I became conscious of the stress chicken soup causes for both my mom and grandma every time it’s made.
After dinner, desert, and a few rounds of euchre I finally got what I had been waiting for. Down time. This is the magic time. When my grandma and I lay in a recliner, barely fitting as I’ve grown. We just lay together and watch a rerun of whatever we want, today it happened to be I Love Lucy and The Love Boat. While not-so-silent sleeping surrounds us. No WiFi, no homework, no friends. We just lay and let all stress drift away. No matter how uncomfortable we are, nothing matters because cuddling is the best stress reliever, and that’s all we needed after a long day.

One comment

  1. I love this post! The rite of passage as you were now assigned part of the work, your observation of the stress this soup induces (do you think it’s worth the stress?). And I love the appreciation for your down time with your grandma. It’s such a great reminder that we need this time.

    Love – “While not-so-silent sleeping surrounds us.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *